Home Announcements Message from the Director – Celebrate our 64th season

Message from the Director – Celebrate our 64th season

Aug 15, 2016 | Announcements

The Bucks County Symphony celebrates its 64th season this year—and our tradition of stellar soloists and great masterpieces continues!

We once again open the season at Delaware Valley University’s beautiful Life Sciences Auditorium for our Fall Concert, featuring extraordinary clarinetist Narek Arutyunian playing Louis Spohr’s Clarinet Concerto No. 2 (and perhaps a virtuoso Ellington arrangement as well!). Johannes Brahms’s rousing Academic Festival Overture opens the performance; the great Symphony No. 2 in C Major by Robert Schumann concludes the program.

Award-winning cellist Christine Lamprea joins the BCSO for our Winter Concert, performing Edward Elgar’s beloved Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op. 85. The sparkling Overture to La Gazza Ladra by Gioachino Rossini begins the concert, and what better way to enliven a winter afternoon than with another C Major Symphony—Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s monumental Symphony No. 41, the Jupiter.

At our Spring Concert you get three-for-the-price-of-one, as the three virtuosos of the Brown-Urioste-Canellakis Trio are our guests in a performance of Ludwig van Beethoven’s dramatic Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra. Setting the scene, the BCSO will present Richard Wagner’s “Entrance of the Gods into Valhalla” from Das Rheingold. For the rousing conclusion of the season, hold on to your seats, for on tap is none other than the great Symphony No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 78—the Organ Symphony—by Camille Saint-Saëns.

For our Pops Concert this year, celebrated husband-and-wife folk duo Jay Ungar and Molly Mason will delight and entertain. You know their work from their contributions to soundtracks for Ken Burns’ documentaries (featuring Jay’s haunting “Ashokan Farewell”) as well as from their frequent appearances on Garrison Keillor’s Prairie Home Companion. And don’t forget to bring your young friends to our December Family Concert to enjoy the exuberant sounds of the Cold Spring, Groveland and Kutz Elementary School Bands, under the direction of Mark Appiotti, as well as some special musical surprises. Featured soloist is the winner of our annual Youth Concerto Competition, Nahoko Okamoto, performing the first movement of Èdouard Lalo’s Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21.

Join the BCSO fun in 2016 – 2017—and be inspired by great music and performers, right in your backyard!

See you soon!

Gary S. Fagin
Music Director

© 2024 Bucks County Symphony Orchestra. Privacy Policy | Sitemap
Custom WordPress Design, Development & Digital Marketing by time4design.